Leaving Kinshasa for Central Congo

I am flying out of Kinshasa tomorrow morning, and will end up in the much smaller town of Kindu. Once in Kindu, I will have a 6-hour motorbike ride northwest, followed by a 2-day trek to reach my basecamp in the forest. Once in the forest, I’m not sure how often I’ll be coming out, but I’ll have no other contact besides a satellite phone. This will probably be the most removed I’ve ever been, but that’s part of the reason I wanted to come here!

I’ve added a link to my first set of pictures in Congo. It’s difficult to take pictures around Kinshasa; lots of police and military who don’t want people taking pictures, lots of off-limits buildings, even the river is a restricted photograph subject. I found this out the difficult way–Jojo and I were walking the Harts’ dog around the path next to the river where they always go, and I decided to bring my camera to get some shots of the Congo River. As I

A view of the Congo River from Embassy Row. I've never seen a lighthouse on a river before (not sure if it works)

was taking one of the pictures, a soldier came up behind me and took my camera. Even though it turned out he spoke Swahili, I couldn’t understand most of what he said, so it was a bit difficult to get my camera back. But Jojo speaks Swahili very well, and she was able to sort it out. Turns out I was taking a picture near a military building, and the soldiers wanted to make sure I hadn’t taken any pictures of it.

Jojo and I also got to visit Lola ya Bonobo, the world’s only bonobo sanctuary that I mentioned in my last post. Hopefully I’ll be seeing them in the wild soon too!

Although I probably won’t be able to reply, please let me know if you have any questions, concerns, etc. about what I’m doing. I’ll answer as soon as I can. For now, I’m off to explore the jungles of central Congo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving Kinshasa for Central Congo

  1. Bill Baver says:

    Hope things are going well – let us know when you get out and have a chance to provide a little update. Hope the research is also what you were looking for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

